Away on an Adventure: Bound for Middle Earth

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”
― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings

I’ve loved the Lord of the Rings ever since I was a child. I remember sneaking a very worn copy of the Hobbit into middle school assemblies and re-reading it during the school orchestra concerts. By 8th grade, I had finished the trilogy, and I was caught up in the magic of the movies. Perhaps I will never win an LOTR trivia contest, nor do I speak Elvish, but something about Tolkien’s masterpiece has stayed with me, has grown up with me. And something about Howard Shore’s “Concerning Hobbits” will always bring me home.

So I am absolutely thrilled to announce that I am currently in Narita Airport, headed to Middle Earth (also known as New Zealand) with my fearless fellow adventurer, J.

Yes, yes, I know New Zealand isn’t actually Middle Earth. But a girl can dream.

“Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisoned by the enemy, don’t we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we’re partisans of liberty, then it’s our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
― J.R.R. Tolkien

So after two months of intense planning, J and I are going to be spending the next week and a half road-tripping around New Zealand’s North Island. We’ll be hiking, caving, eating, exploring, and of course, visiting the Shire.

This trip is honestly a dream come true for me. It’s a true bucket-list adventure. I haven’t even gone yet, and already I want to go back! But before I can start planning the next adventure, our airplane is calling. And the road is calling~ you know where I’m going with this  😉

“The Road goes ever on and on,                                                                                                                          Down from the door where it began.                                                                                                                    Now far ahead the Road has gone,                                                                                                                      And I must follow, if I can…. ”                                                                                                                                         ― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings 

5 thoughts on “Away on an Adventure: Bound for Middle Earth

  1. Thea says:

    That’s awesome news! 😀

    I too am a huge fan and in August last year (after finishing up with JET) I went on a two week tour covering all the filming locations of The Hobbit and LOTR in the north and south island. I know you will love the Shire – it’s amazing! I also bought so much merchandise as well, including my own ‘precious’ Ring.
    Enjoy Middle Earth!

    “Not all those who wander are lost” ~ J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings

    Like

    • karen.m says:

      A two week LOTR-themed tour of NZ?! That’s amazing!! What were your favorite places? Did you feel like you were in Middle Earth? I feel a little like that right now, to be honest! I completely understand why Peter Jackson chose to film in NZ!

      We are only concentrating on the North Island this trip, so I couldn’t make it to all the mountains in the South, but we just visited Hobbiton and Mt. Doom! Yes, I absolutely loved it! 🙂 I’m still here and I can’t wait to go back.

      “All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.” — J.R.R. Tolkien

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thea says:

        Hobbiton is just amazing, right?
        My favourite place was the location of where Edoras was filmed – a small mountain (or really large hill) smack bang in the middle of what used to be a massive glacier lake surrounded by huge snow-capped mountains… breathtaking stuff.
        Glad that you’ve been having a great time! 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

